Last week I had a break from my studies and spent the week enjoying the ski slopes of Morzine, in the French Alps.  I was there with a group of friends and it’s safe to say that our skiing abilities are ‘average’ at best.  After hitting the slopes hard, we decided to have some final day fun racing down the Penguin Run.  Technically, a children’s slope, the Penguin Run had lots of obstacles to navigate between, objects to hit and a tunnel to ski under.    What we all noticed after completing the run was how our skiing techniques had improved when we were distracted by concentrating on the obstacles in our paths and how it might be easier to negotiate the ‘adult’ slopes if they included more playful elements.

This made me reflect on the importance of fun in design.  As adults we concentrate on style and technique, whilst as children learn through play.  By incorporating these adolescent learning styles into my project, I will hopefully be able to create more engaging spaces, that people want to spend time in.  Whilst the core message might be secondary to the activity, through play it becomes more memorable.

