I recently entered a competition run by Grand Designs Live, to style a a standard garden shed.  My design was inspired by my love of sewing and all things creative.  I chose a colour palette, based on British meadow flowers (green, white and yellow), which was both bright and airy, perfect lighting conditions for doing fine needlepoint work.

As one of the five finalists for the Grand Shed Project I was invited to bring my shed design to life at ExCel exhibition centre in London at the end of April.

With only a limited budget to create my design, I decided to focus on upcycling a range of furniture sourced from local charity shops, showcasing how anyone could produce unique, personal items.

Adding a few new bespoke items created by independent designers, the Sewing Shack started to take shape.

Before – the standard 10’x8′ garden shed provided by Walton’s.


After – the shed transformed into The Sewing Shack


Inside the Sewing Shack, featuring upcycled furniture and furnishings


Upcycled cutting table, mirror, storage cupboard and stool (all originally sourced from charity shops).


Magnetic chalk boards (reconditioned photo frames), featuring button magnets.


Reappropriated wine rack and peg boards for additional storage


Upcycled tables, magazine rack and reupholstered chair.  Table lamp by Leona Nicholas and clock by Dotty Flamingo 

I’m really pleased how the final shed looked and the public’s positive reaction to the project.  The five final sheds were really diverse, a reading snug, boutique bedroom, indoor garden and Miami Beach bar, as well as my sewing shack, hopefully meeting the brief and providing lots of inspiration.

Best of all I got to chat ‘sheds’ with Kevin McCloud!

